For my friends

Community does not necessarily mean living face-to-face with others; rather, it means never losing the awareness that we are connected to each other.

– Parker Palmer

 

cropped-img_1083.jpg

 

If you asked me to spare a thought for you on my travels, I’d tell you there is no need. If you asked me if I thought about every mile between us, I’d tell you not at all. For with each day I realise more and more that neither time nor distance is our enemy; rather it is the thought that something is lost in the space between parting and meeting once more. You have shaped me, as I have shaped you in ways we do not even realise. I carry your words, your influence, your wisdom, your joy, everywhere I go. The point is not that we are no longer making new memories together, it is not discounting the one’s we have already made.

Sending my love from afar,

x

One thought on “For my friends

Leave a Reply

