Venice of the North 

St. Petersburg welcomes me with unexpected warmth (literally).  My first impressions? Everything is so much bigger than Vienna; the streets are wider, longer; palaces dwarf all other buildings. Statues. Everywhere. The sun doesn’t set until midnight and there’s less pigeons. 

  

Palace Square 
  

     

Engineering Castle
  
  

   

     
St. Isaacs Cathedral 

  

The scale of this building is unbelievable!

   
  

   

 Spires of Peter and Paul Fortess  
Armenian Church 

   

  

    
 
The Church on Spilled Blood 

  
Monument to Catherine the Great

      

Ps. The more time I spend in cities like this, the more I realise Perth actually has no history at all, let alone any engagement of history with its people. Maybe I’m being a little harsh, maybe Europe has grown on me. Maybe I’ve been enchanted by place and Time and how one reveals the other. Maybe it’s all of the above. 

Leave a Reply

